2019 Best of the Pine Belt "Arts, Culture, and Entertainment" Finalists

The following individuals and businesses are among this year's finalists in Signature Magazine's annual "Best of the Pine Belt" competition held in conjunction with FestivalSouth. Voting begins Feb. 14 at www.festivalsouth.org – Congratulations to all of this year's nominees!


Album of the Year
“Desperate Times & Blind Eyes” by Midnight Revel
“The Sound EP” by Ty Trehern
“Fade” by Goth Dad
“Touro Street” by BrothaJosh and the Quickness
“A Feeling You Can’t Get Back” by The Devil Music Co.

Best Burlesque Performer
Amanda Bennett
Amanda Robertson
Madame Willow
Allison Neville
Leeann Marie

Best Female Vocalist
Abigail Lenz Allen
Jamie Rettig
Lanna Wakeland
Leeann Marie
Jennie Blackwell

Best House/Cover Band
Hattiesburlesque House Band
Hub City Sound Machine
Madewood Street Music
The Icemen
The Prom Knights

Best Live Musical Act
Hub City Sound Machine
Madewood Street Music
Midnight Revel
Mississippi Shakedown
The Prom Knights

Best Local Actor/Actress
Jennie Blackwell
Joseph VanZandt
Tammy Mansfield
Miles Doleac
Holly Wansley

Best Local Author
Kim Jones
Steven Holifield
Vicki Baylis
Robert St. John
Dean Meador Smith

Best Local Comic
Jamie Arrington
Ben Compton
Comedian Whodi
Tim Watkins
Joe Carlisle

Best Local Instagrammer
@bettypress (Betty Press)
@gingerwesson_ (Ginger Wesson)
@thektwalker (Keenon Walker)
@_madamewillow (Madame Willow)

Best Live Music Photographer
Amanda Kyrie
Chad Edwards
Keith Kujath
Rob Walker
Sarah Douglas

Best Local Podcast
A Paranormal Chicks
Church of Tobey
District Sound Waves
Everything is OK
To The Top Talk

Best Local Radio DJ
Flyin’ Bryan Hicks – Rock 104
Jon Lamar – Rock 104
Mean Willie Green – WUSM 88.5
Tom Colt – Rock 104
Big Daddy – Wild 106.3

Best Local Radio Station
WUSM 88.5
97.7 The Groove
Rock 104
Supertalk 97.3

Best Local Songwriter
Cary Hudson
Colt Browning
Don Quinn
Thomas Jackson
Ty Trehern

Best Local Visual Artist
Andrea Kostyal
Jason Kimes
Kyle Baughman
Thomas Jackson
Tasha Messer Williams

Best Local Ceramics/Pottery
Vixon Sullivan
Brad Joyner
Claudia Carter
Jason Wilson

Best Male Vocalist
Bart Jones
Chad Cox
Cole Hill
Scott Wallace
Tyler Tisdale

Best Musical Duo/Group
Royal Horses
Down & Good
Midnight Revel
Mississippi Shakedown
The Prom Knights

Best New/Emerging Artist
Down & Good
Eric Woods
Colt Browning
Lil’ Detroit
Zach Koch

Best Place to Hear Local Music
Blu Jazz Café
Nick’s Ice House
The Thirsty Hippo
Slowboat Brewery

Best Sports Photographer
Jesse Johnson
Mark Magee
Van Tyner
Joe Harper
Pat Causey

Best Student Theatre Production
Beauty and the Beast Jr. – Stagestruck
The Axeman’s Requiem – Oak Grove High School
Xanadu Jr. – Sacred Heart

Best Tattoo Artist
Anthony Washington – The Ink Company
Brian Jordan – Hattiesburg Tattoo
Noah Hollis – Hub City Tattoo
Phillip Higgs – Lady Luck Tattoo
Robbie Wilson – Lady Luck Tattoo

Best Local Theatre Production
Steel Magnolias – Hub City Players
The Who’s Tommy – Hattiesburg Civic Light Opera
Rocky Horror Picture Show - Hattiesburg Civic Light Opera

Best Local TV Personality
Mike McDaniel - WDAM
Nick Lilja - WDAM
Patrick Bigbie - WDAM
Rex Thompson - WDAM
Randy Swan – FOX23

Best Overall Tattoo Studio
Hattiesburg Tattoo
Hub City Tattoo
The Ink Company
Lady Luck Tattoo
Skin Deep Tattoo Studio

Best Wedding/Engagement Photographer
April + Paul
Heritage Photography
Kaleb Hill
Refuge Photography
Starling and Sage

Song of the Year
“Something to Find” – Ty Trehern
“Problems” – The DLX
“Sailboat Bed” – The Devil Music Co.
“The Love” – Midnight Revel
“There She Walks” – Royal Horses